Monday, 17 November 2014

Breaking down the SPINE

Your spine (aka - vertebral column) :  is home to your spinal cord and consists of a debatable number of bones (vertebrae) stacked atop one another.  Your spine is divided into three main sections :

Cervical, Thoracic  and Lumbar 

 Cervical Spine aka 'C spine' 

 -consists of seven vertebrae (C1-C7)
-your skull sits on top of C1 & C2
-and C7 is that biggest bony bump on the base of your neck  aka 
"the last cervical vertebrae"

Thoracic Spine aka 'T-Spine'

-right after the bump of C7 comes T1
- t-spine consists of 12 vertebrae (T1-12)
-the ribs (1-12 of course!) attached the the t-spine

Lumbar Spine aka 'L-spine'

- consists of five vertebrae (L1-L5)
-underneath L5 is your sacrum- tiny vertebrae (S1-S5) fused together that looks like 
an upside-down triangle.
-the nerves that innervate your legs and feet come from the area of your L-spine and sacrum.
-and at the very bottom of the sacrum is your tailbone ! aka: coccyx 
(which is three more lil' bones fused together)

*L4/L5 or L5/S1 is the most common area to get a herniated disk.

As you can see above, the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar vertebrae all differ slightly in shape and size.

I found this great lil' video that shows the difference between each vertebrae and the major features like the spinous process and tranverse process (aka TVP) -where many muscles attach!

The more we can visualize and understand the vertebral column (spine) as well as the rest of the skeleton - the more muscle attachment points will make sense :)